The Big Cheesemaking Kit

We spotted this kit a while back at the Clarkston Farmers Market, being sold by Creeside Charcuterie. The kit is made in Edinburgh and is available online or through Creeside.

I was pretty interested in the kit, and thankfully Santa remembered and got me the goats cheese kit for Christmas! I’ve had a go of making it this afternoon. All I needed to buy that wasn’t in the kit was goats milk. The kit comes with everything else – salt, citric acid, butter muslin and a thermometer.

The first step is to heat the milk (with citric acid) to 180F in a saucepan, stirring. This took me about 10-15 minutes all up and was quite relaxing as I sipped my Pimms.

image

Next, it was time to strain. This is where things didn’t quite go to plan. I strained it through the butter muslin, but nearly all of it drained through. At this point I was a bit frustrated and confused as I didn’t know what to do, being a total novice! Thankfully Ailsa was on twitter (@bigcheesemaking) and suggested I reheat the milk, add a little more citric acid and strain through doubled-over muslin. This seemed to do the trick!

image

I left it to strain for 30 minutes, and then had my very own goats cheese! I was absolutely over the moon when I tasted it as it really is unlike shop-bought goats cheese. This is a lot creamier and silkier and is delicious on bread or crackers. It has quite a mild taste which I’ve found tastes great with chilli and spicy flavours, like mango chutney.

image
The next day I made bread with the leftover whey as I like to try not to waste anything! I cannot wait to make more cheese with this kit.

image

Hope everyone has had a lovely Christmas break, and is looking forward to celebrating New Year’s Eve/Hogmanay! Thanks all for your tips, comments and chats over the past year – I promise we will be writing up more blog posts in 2013!

3 thoughts on “The Big Cheesemaking Kit

  1. Maggie says:

    Hello from California — Was trolling the web to find more Scottish food blogs and happened upon yours (vis-a-vis A Scot’s Larder) and see that there is now a Whole Foods in Giffnock. Wonderful area and glad you also found it a great place to shop on occasion. We’ve one not to far from where we live in Pebble Beach and it’s funny to see almost the same set-up/merchandising so far away. I just wanted to point out, however, that they do not hang the bananas in our store. Seems to be something more up-to-date and eye-catching in your new store!

    This is a wonderful blog and I look forward to reading it in 2013. We are in Glasgow often (went to the Ubiquitous Chip when it first opened) and love your city! Have been reading Alex Gray’s books and she does a fair bit in describing places in and about the City.

    Thanks for a wonderful update on all that’s going on in Glasgow.

    • Briony says:

      Hi Maggie! Thanks for your great comment. I’ve never been to the states but am definitely going to visit Whole Foods when we do – sounds kind of surreal really! I’ve read an Alex Gray book too – it’s really not as dangerous as the novels but I do love her descriptions. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a comment